ArianeSoft - Programming and development for Windows and Windows Mobile :: Forums :: PPL - Pocket Programming Language :: Code sharing

<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Component Classes?
Go to page  [1] 2
Moderators: kornalius, bmanske, PointOfLight
Author Post
Donone
Wed Oct 31 2007, 02:03pm
Registered Member #231
Attached is a StatusBar Class file and a test program with mouse usage to illustrate. It is not complete but shows the principle. The statusbar has four panels, two grey would normally hold a legend and the white, varying values from the external program. It should be possible to vary the colours externally etc.
The shapes are plain corners etc but could presumably be enhanced.

As a newbie I am nervous that I am re-inventing a square wheel and this is all very obvious to everybody (except of course a newbie) and you use such things every day.
The aim was to produce a Class of a 'control' (loose) that does not exist and be able to set properties and action methods, much as one would with a TClass of something.
Any shape or complexity should be possible and any number of each can be instatiated. The principle, is to produce a sprite without having to do so in advance (on the fly), (thanks to zehlein for showing me how to do this).
This is then placed within a class structure, with its own spriteproc and individually setable properties, as one might do in Delphi. (Do not be fooled by that statement, there is no comparison, but I can see uses for this principle of encapsulation of 'controls' and their properties/methods... at least for me.

There are comments, some of which ask questions of the bits that gave errors if the // is removed. There are also questions about how to do a particular thing, which might enhance the principle. If anybody can assist me with perfecting those things I would be very very grateful.
If this is re-inventing... please also let me know not to waste any more time, (but it was good for learning), I can take it